Summer-autumn spell

10628157_1540982962797527_7620143416126604499_n

Summer-autumn transitions are always a mix of flavours for me: I enjoy getting back into work routines and feel the return to the more internal writing-generating space…but I also feel the sadness of saying a temporary goodbye to campfires, green earth and sun, and the complete freedom of letting go of structure and embracing travel. Summer for me is always a time of relaxing my productivity and enjoying more ‘being’…somewhat enforced by the round-the-clock childcare aspects of school holidays, which I can surrender into and enjoy.

But being a person who thrives on getting stuff done and being creative, I was starting to chomp at the bit a little after 4 weeks of the holidays. I was being a little hard on myself for not attending to my Wild Motherhood Book for some weeks, having promised I’d get it out for feedback a couple of months ago. What little time I had child-free was spent mostly working on a freelance copywriting project, writing about mind-body practices. But today I have cracked the membrane, as a good friend says, and got my manuscript to a feedback-suitable state, emailing it to a friend who offered to give me feedback; sent off some poetry turned into lyrics, to a musician friend for possible melody matching; and sent my illustrator the suggested revisions for our children’s book collaboration. All stuff I was convinced would take hours and days and for which I felt far too exhausted the last few weeks, but really only required a little space as my son went off to his dad’s for the weekend and I for once had a weekend at home on my hands. Re-connecting with my dreams feels good! 

About morgancnicholswriter

Writer, content creator/copywriter, poet, novelist, workshop facilitator
This entry was posted in creative writing, creativity and motherhood, poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Summer-autumn spell

  1. Tig says:

    Let’s pray those evening fires, connecting with nature and contemplation continue to feed our creativity into the winter when we can stare into indoor fires and dance with words and pictures.

Leave a Reply

